Indiana’s hit-and-run laws prohibit drivers from leaving the scene of an accident illegally. IC § 9-26-1-1.1 requires a motorist who is involved in an accident to:
- Stop their vehicle, either at the accident scene or a safe, nearby location
- Provide their information to others involved in the accident
- Provide reasonable help to anyone injured or in danger
- Notify proper authorities of the accident
A motorist who fails to abide by these requirements may face criminal sanctions.
Possible Criminal Consequences for Fleeing the Scene of an Accident
Failure to fulfill one’s duties as detailed in IC § 9-26-1-1.1 may lead to criminal charges. As Indiana’s hit-and-run laws explain, the decision to run after a car accident may:
- Result in Class B misdemeanor charges if nobody is injured in the accident
- Result in Class A misdemeanor charges if someone suffers an injury in the accident
- Result in Level 6 felony charges if someone suffers moderate or severe bodily injury in the accident or the motorist at-fault motorist had certain prior convictions from the five years
- Result in Level 4 felony charges if someone dies or suffers catastrophic injury in the accident
- Result in Level 3 felony charges if the fleeing driver was intoxicated and caused serious injury or death
A motorist who flees the scene may face separate criminal charges for each person they injure or kill. Those convicted of any of these charges may face imprisonment, significant fines, and other consequences.
If you were the victim of a hit-and-run accident, you could pursue compensation from the liable party.
For a free legal consultation, call 317-636-7777
How to Pursue Compensation if a Fleeing Motorist is Caught
If law enforcement apprehends the motorist who left your accident scene, you might generally:
- File an insurance claim with the motorist’s insurer
- Sue the motorist
Your specific case details will determine which option is right for you.
How to Pursue Compensation if the Fleeing Motorist Goes Uncaught
Your own insurance policy may cover your losses if the police never catch the fleeing motorist. The Indiana Department of Insurance (IDOI) explains that motorists generally have underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage by default. You may have applicable coverage, unless you rejected such coverage in writing.
Minimum coverage limits for underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage are:
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, up to $50,000 in coverage per accident (when an uninsured motorist causes your accident)
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage (when an underinsured motorist causes your accident)
- $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident (when either an uninsured or underinsured motorist causes your accident)
Insurance coverage can be a confusing topic, especially soon after an accident. Our team can review your insurance policy and determine what types of coverage you have.
How Our Lawyers Can Help After a Hit-and-Run Accident
You may be in rough shape after a hit-and-run accident. Injuries, anxiety, and pain may leave you in a compromised state. Dealing with an insurance claim or lawsuit may only impose further stress upon you.
Your lawyer will ensure that you do not have to worry about your claim or lawsuit. You can rest and recover while your team does the following:
- Contact insurance companies
- Act as your representative for all incoming communications
- File your claim or lawsuit
- Complete your case
Are You Entitled to Compensation for a Hit-and-Run Accident?
We can only determine your eligibility for compensation after reviewing your case. If you are entitled to awards, your settlement or judgment might cover:
- Accident-related trauma: A lawsuit may cover a slew of losses generally referred to as pain and suffering. Lost quality of life, physical pain, emotional anguish, lost sleep, depression, and anxiety may fit into the “pain and suffering” category.
- Medical treatment: We might secure coverage for all of your accident-related medical care. This may include rehabilitation for your injuries.
- Professional harm: Lost wages and lost productivity are among professional damages that may warrant compensation for you.
- Vehicle repairs: The cost of repairing or replacing your vehicle may fall upon those who are liable for your accident.
- Replacement of personal property: Liable parties may pay to repair or replace any personal property damaged during your accident.
We examine every case individually. Our team will identify each of your losses, assigning a cost to every damage. Only then will your lawyer know how much compensation you deserve for your hit-and-run accident.
Click to contact our Indiana Hit and Run Laws today
Call Sevenish Law Firm, P.C to Discuss Your Case
Call our team as soon as you can. IC § 34-11-2-4 generally allows you to file a personal injury lawsuit within two years of your hit-and-run accident. There are exceptions to this deadline, though, so call us even if it has been more than two years since your collision.
A team member is ready to answer your questions and discuss your case. Call Sevenish Law Firm, P.C. today for your FREE consultation.